Until 1950, Iran

Until 1950, Iran was divided into twelve provinces: Ardalan, Azerbaijan, Baluchistan, Fars, Gilan, Araq-e Ajam, Khorasan, Juzestan, Kerman, Larestan, Lorestan, and Mazandaran. In 1950, Iran was reorganized into ten provinces Governments with subordinates: Gilan, Mazandaran, East Azerbaijan, West Azerbaijan, Kermanshah, Juzestan, Fars, Kerman, Khorasan, Isfahan. From 1960 to 1981 governments were elevated to provincial status one by one. Since then we have created several new provinces, the last in 2004 when the province of Khorasan was divided into three new provinces.

Comments are closed.